Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#AdventWord #Surprise

2016-12-14-10-20-07

#AdventWord #Surprise

What a lovely surprise this morning to look in the mailbox and find a Christmas card from my eldest daughter and her husband! I mostly love surprises, especially the good ones, but there are those you would rather not have. Today’s surprise was definitely one of the good ones!

Our daughter and son in law live quite the distance from us and we won’t be celebrating Christmas with them until Epiphany weekend – but who doesn’t like a holiday stretching on and on! Our family learned a long time ago that it was necessary to be flexible around Christmas – the dear one being an Anglican priest and all. Our goal is to get together when it works best for everyone.

My daughter had told me that she was sending out Christmas cards but I didn’t actually expect one, because you know we are going to see each other soon. That was what made it so surprising to get the card in the mail this morning. I must say both the dear one & I feel quite loved and cared for by them. It is the best thing in the world to know your adult children love you and want to spend time with you.

This surprise brought with it lots of good thoughts and lots of love. I love Advent surprises and I’m sure there will be a few more yet before we get to Christmas Day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

