Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#AdventWord #Promise

2016-12-09-15-50-43

#AdventWord #Promise

Promises – I have made a lot of them over the years and I think I have kept most of them. I have had promises made to me and mostly those have been kept as well. I am grateful that my life is full of promises given and kept. It is not the case for the First Peoples of Canada. Promises were made in treaties and they were broken over and over again. As a country we have a long way to go towards reconciliation between Indigenous and Settler peoples.

The Primate’s Commission on Discovery, Reconciliation and Justice of the Anglican Church of Canada wrote an open letter to the church that was released today. I realized while reading the letter that I have made a significant promise in my life of working in and for the church. A promise to be a bridge builder, to be one who helps to bring about reconciliation between Settler and Indigenous peoples. It is the reason why I do the work that I do for the Diocese of Edmonton.

This promise is going to mean that I have to keep the churches figurative toes to the fire. That we don’t forget our complicity in the Indian Residential Schools or that we have to become partners with the Indigenous church that is growing in our wider church. They have much to teach us if we are willing to listen. I am, I hope you are.

2016-12-09-15-57-00

#AdventWord #Promise

This day seemed to call for another image – as I was going upstairs at about 4 pm MST the sun was beginning to set. The orange glow just seemed to be God promising me another day and that there is hope in the world. So I stopped and enjoyed the beauty. I hope you do too.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

