Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#AdventWord #Be

unadjustednonraw_thumb_1e7

#AdventWord #Be

I’m pictured here with my sister. This picture was taken a few years ago, but it is still one of my faves even I look a bit dorky in it. My sister is a domestic violence survivor as are her three wonderful kids. You can read more about her story on her blog. She has become an amazing advocate for other women and is not shy about speaking her truth. I am incredibly proud of her.

One of the many things my sister has taught about being with those who have gone through trauma is just to sit and be with them. Today’s Advent Word is be and I immediately thought of her and this photo. She taught me to not rush her, to give her space to make her own decisions, to not become a rescuer but someone who is a supporter, to love her through this time of becoming a survivor.

In Canada today it is the National Day of Action and Remembrance on Violence Against Women. 27 years ago today a man with an automatic weapon walked into a university in Montreal and killed 14 women, just because they were women. We remember those women, we remember the indigenous women of Canada who were murdered or missing, we remember the families torn apart because of domestic violence. We recommit ourselves to being with them and acting to support them.

I firmly believe that this is a call of Christian witness. To be with those women and children who have/are suffering because of violence against them. To trust their stories and to be their advocates as necessary. I will continue to be…….

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

