Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

30 Years!

 

Be warned this is a bit of mushy post. Not to put you off, but I am happy that the dear one and I have made it this far and I want share that with you all.

Hands of love and commitment

30 years ago on February 8th the dear one and I had our first date. We didn’t even realize at the time it was our first date but by the end of the evening when he leaned over and kissed me and I kissed back we sure knew. We look back at that date and realize that was when love started to grow between us. Our friends from that time will tell you that we had a whirlwind romance because after 6 weeks of dating we were engaged.

We have spent the next 30 years together.Moving to different communities, raising children, sharing our hopes, dreams, sorrows, frustrations, fears, love, joy, faith, doubts – in other words our lives with each other. I can’t imagine my life without him and I know that I am a better person because of him. I am fairly sure that he feels the same.

We have fallen in love over and over again. We have fought like you wouldn’t believe. We have been quiet with each other when we probably shouldn’t have been. We have shouted when we should have done more listening. We have laughed and laughed and laughed. We have developed friendships with so many good people over the years. We have dealt with physical health issues and mental health issues and have stood by each other through those things.

We have let our lives become a sacrament and hope that we show God’s love to others as we have made our way in the world. We are a couple the dear one and I and it makes me smile just to say that.

Here’s to another 30 years of living, loving and laughing with my dear one. I am so grateful to have become his friend, his wife, his partner and that God has given us the grace to make life better together.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “30 Years!

  1. Cheers to you both!!

Leave a Reply

