Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Time to get over the Stigma #BellLetsTalk

Here in Canada it is Bell Let’s Talk Day to talk about, think about, write about and to de-stigmatize mental illness and those living with it daily. Bell Canada is paying 5 cents for every tweet and share of the Facebook image. (By the way, I am not promoting Bell Canada, just the great work they are doing raising money for their mental health initiative.) I have written about this before and I will probably write about it again because I know from my own family’s struggles that mental health is so important to all of us. So I am doing my bit to share the news with you my readers.

en_300x250_bell_lets_talk_action_clara

I know family, friends and others who have lost their jobs, been told they weren’t good enough, shunned by those that they thought would support them, had their church community turn their backs on them all because they shared about their mental illness. When I share about my chronic illness I do not expect people to do any of those things. In fact, I expect all of those that I share that with to be at the least sympathetic and if I am lucky to be empathetic.

I think it is time for us all to change our attitudes about mental illness and mental health. In fact, I think we would be all healthier mentally if we took the time to share with those we love, those we work with, those we play with, those we worship with our mental health struggles. I know that I do better when I take the time to meet with health professionals and sort out how to deal with my rheumatoid arthritis and when I meet with health professionals when I am struggling with my mental health.

We all need the support that we can get to make our lives better. I am standing up to the stigma and saying enough is enough! Will you?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

