Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#Risk #AdventWord

A year and a half ago I was invited to go to a northern First Nations community to be part of a Bible Camp with On Eagles Wings. I wrote about that here, if you want to see more.

It was a risk for me to do that. I had felt disconnected from the church for a long time. I hadn’t done any work with children in over 2 years. I wondered if I would be enthusiastic enough (as one has to be leading these things), I wondered if I would have enough energy to get through the week, I wondered if the children would be open to the message from God that we were bringing with us, I wondered if God would use my gifts.

#Risk #AdventWord

That’s thing with taking a risk and putting yourself out there. You wonder and if you are me you worry. Well I didn’t need to. God took my risk and opened up my heart again. Opened it to love. Opened it to ministry. Opened it to healing. It was amazing.

I look back at that week and realize it was as if I turned a corner. Opportunities opened for me. Relationships were strengthened. New friendships were made and are still continuing. Work became possible and reconciliation happened.

What risk is God calling you to take? What new life is waiting for you just around the corner?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

