Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#ShowUp #AdventWord

I live with rheumatoid arthritis and until the past 6 months it wasn’t that noticeable except occassionally. Now it seems I can’t go more than a day or two without discernible pain. Then there are days like today when I have to push past the pain just to do the regular stuff, like making coffee or getting dressed. Pain makes it hard for the best of me to show up and be present. All I want to do is to curl up, snuggle under a blanket, and let the pain meds do their work. I become this whiny, crabby person with a short temper. Not the person I want to be or the person that I know God is calling me to be. Certainly not the person I know I am when the pain is under control.

#ShowUp #AdventWord

I know that God shows up when even I can’t and for that I am so grateful. I am going to do my best to show up for God. Showing up means discipline. Discipline to take care of myself, so that I can be there for others. Discipline to ask for prayers and assistance. So here I am showing up even when I just want to the world to go away and leave me alone.

What do you need to show up for? How do you know when God shows up for you?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “#ShowUp #AdventWord

  1. I know exactly what you are saying. I showed up this morning to preach (good thing too as the rector had limited voice) and I will show up this evening to sing. This afternoon DH will show up for me to a house warming/blessing while I exercise some self-care. Sometimes choosing life (Deut. 30) means choosing to rest.

Leave a Reply

