Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

#Abide #AdventWord

Abide AdventWord

Today’s Advent Word is abide. Abiding in love, saying yes to God’s gift to us, being open to grace and growth in that gift of love. Almost 30 years ago I said yes to the dear one and yep, that is him with me in the picture. I love this picture, we took it on a Thanksgiving walk with my sister’s family in the Cypress Hills back in October. It was such a good day and we were feeling so good together.

We have been through a lot, the dear one and I, more than both of us expected when we said yes to each other those many years ago. Through it all though we have abided with each other and God has abided with us. We have stuck it out, we have continued to say yes and continue to answer each other with that YES. We have grown together, raised children together, worked together, fought with each other, challenged each other intellectually,  seen each other live with chronic illnesses that we didn’t expect. fallen in love over and over again, discovered new things about the other that surprise and delight us. We abide in each others love and God abides in that love with us. I couldn’t ask for a better person to be spending my life with. I thank God for the dear one each and every day.

If there was a motto for the dear one and I it would be this:

God is love, and those who abide in love abide in God, and God abides in them.

1 John 4:16b

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

