Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Discipline Wagon or how I fell off, dusted myself off and got back on again

It is no surprise that disciple and discipline have the same root and lead us in the same direction. I am a disciple of Jesus. I am on my journey learning how to be a better person and therefore a better Christian. Being a disciple takes discipline and I fell off the discipline wagon yesterday.

wagon1

I was hoping and had shared with you good readers that I was going to do a daily posting through Lent and I made it through Sunday and then yesterday came. Bam, the dear one and I had a day off together and the post didn’t happen. Oh, I did choose a title and I did start to write something but it just didn’t flow and mostly I ignored it. By the time I went to bed last night I was feeling sorry for myself and disappointed that I had fallen off the discipline wagon.

The good thing is that I can get back with my discipline and here I am posting for all of you again.

My son in law is a blogger and a tri-athelete in training. One of things he often writes about is the need to be gentle with himself when he falls off his training schedule or discipline wagon, as I am starting to call it. He just gets going with his training plan again and remembers that each new day brings a new learning with it. So I am going to take his advice and be gentle with myself and remember the learning of falling off my discipline wagon.

One of the benefits of this fall is that I found my inspiration again and it gave me something to write about. Picture big smiley face here!

I am remembering that Jesus told us his disciples that we need to work at bringing about the reign of God. For me today that means working on some of mine own issues of discipline in hopes that I can show others by my example what it means to be a Christian.

What discipline wagons have you fallen off and how did you get back on again?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Discipline Wagon or how I fell off, dusted myself off and got back on again

  1. Thanks for this Fiona. I was feeling guilty because I didn’t get up to go to the gym this morning because I was both still tired and my leg and hip hurt. Now I’ll just let that go; try to move a little more today; and try again tomorrow.

    Sending a cyber hug,
    Marion

Leave a Reply

