Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

My little, not so secret, secret

I worry, I worry a lot. I worry that we won’t get the house we want. I worry that we will be able to pay all of our bills. I worry that I won’t find another job that will let my creativity shine. I worry and I worry a lot. The dear one knows this, my children know this and many of my friends know this and now all of you know this. I worry.

It is not my best characteristic at all. I am not proud of how much worrying I do. This Lent I am trying to face this worry in the face and give it over to God. I need to find a way to decrease the anxiety that permeates much of my life.

When the anxiety and worry take over my life I begin to get all carpy with the dear one, I forget things I said I would do, and I sleep terribly. Yep worry sucks big time!

I am working on letting the worry go and having faith that it will all work out the way that it is supposed to do and that we will not be abandoned by God.  I am trying to remember to breathe before I blurt out my worry. I am trying to make space for healthy, positive thoughts and not let the negative, anxious thoughts take over. I am trying to give up worry for Lent as I know that it sucks away my spiritual health.

There you know my little, not so secret, secret. I am a worrier who needs to remember what her best friend told the dear one I should do years ago – Lighten Up!

What do you need to give up to make space for improved spiritual health?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My little, not so secret, secret

  1. Pingback: Prayer, unexpected gifts, learnings | Faith from the Edges

Leave a Reply

