Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Lent

ashesLent begins today. Later today I will go to church and have ashes spread on my forehead. I am with the dear one beginning to fast from meat on Wednesdays and Fridays throughout Lent. I am participating with others in my new parish in reading the Lent Resource and supporting the work of the PWRDF.

I am also following a number of blogs that have daily Lenten devotions or suggestions for how to be a more generous Christian in my daily life.

Now I am not telling you all of this to brag, but to comment on how far I have come from last year when I wrote this blog about why I wasn’t giving anything up for Lent.  I am talking this year about engaging Lent full on and with passion, something I haven’t felt up to in about 3 years.

I am going to let this Lenten season wash over me, clean away the nastiness from the last couple of years, walk through the desert with my head held high and looking to the horizon with hope and faith.

Over the next 40 days I am going to try and share that journey with you my readers. Some posts will be simple, a photo, or a quick thought, some may be more in depth, but I am going to try and be disciplined and put something up each day. Hope you all don’t get overwhelmed by this but I do want to share this Lenten journey with you, those who have stood by me in difficult times and those who have more recently found this blog.

Walking into the Lenten desert knowing that I have companions along the way and that during this time of fasting, alms-giving and prayer with a new worship community I will find resurrection at the end.

What are you doing, giving up, taking on for Lent this year? I would love to hear about it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Lent

  1. Once more I begin my Lenten journey.This will be the 70th year I have been conscious of the season. As a small child we as a family had special fasting days ..wed and fri… during Lent. This is something we have continued for our 52 years of marriage. No desserts either!
    We will be attending the midweek Eucharist and the 4 week bible study and I will attempt to increase my private reading of scriptures.
    Same old, same old but it means Lent to me and makes the Easter joy all the more special after a long often cold Lent

Leave a Reply

