Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Moving! Making our way through the maze….

This is the fifth move the dear one and I have made together in our marriage. Not many by some standards but more than the many folk  that we have been with in our years of parish ministry. Here is my admission I hate moving. I mean I HATE moving! The added stress, the chaos, the making our way through the maze of selling this house, ending utilities, dealing with lawyers, buying a new house, setting up utilities, dealing with lawyers – you get the picture.

This move is somewhat different. I am ready to move. I am ready to say good bye to here and hello to there. To have a chance for both of us to start over. That doesn’t mean that there isn’t stress because there is, but it is a different kind of stress. It is a stress that is underlayed with excitement and joy. There is however so much to do. So much to do.

In the usual course of Anglican clergy family life you get up to 3 months to prepare for a move. That is to give time to say good-bye to the old parish, pack, sell your house, find a new house to move into – not so in our case. With the dear one having been on leave and needing to get back to work we have shortened up the process. I am trying not to panic.

We have our house up for sale, we are looking for a new home and we have received quotes from movers. We are packing up boxes of books and other bits and pieces. However the dear one is starting on December 1 and if you look at the calendar that is coming up mighty fast. As I said, I am trying not to panic. I am trying to work through one item on our huge to do list at a time and not panic. Did I say, I am trying not to panic?

Moving is stressful at the best of times and the past couple of years have not been the best of times for the dear one and I. This move has some added stresses but it also has the hope and joy of a new beginning and getting to know a new community. So I will not panic. I will have hope that a new home is just waiting for us and that it will all get done as it needs to get done.

This is likely to be my last blog post before the move (unless this go much more smoothly than I think it might). I will back in Advent (yeah for Advent!) with stories to share of our move and settling in. In the meantime, what has been your most stressful move and how did you deal with it?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

