Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Just the Two of Us

3 more weeks of having our adult children home for the summer and then off they go! Number 1 has been away from home for almost 5 years now and so I know that she is safely launched. Number 2 is about to start her 4th year of university and has plans for what to do after that, so I am feeling confident about her. Now number 3 is finally heading out – off to start university. Oh my, I am about to become an empty nest mama!

Don’t get me wrong I am looking forward to it just being the two of us. It will be good for us. We will get the time we need to concentrate on just us. Take the time to heal from all the hurts that have been inflicted from outside and from within.

But…..and you knew there was going to be a but…..our house is going to be quiet – like really quiet. No more thumping up and down the stairs. No more “Mum do you know where I left…?” (Although I will probably continue to hear “Fiona do you know where I left?”).  No more raucous with laughter dinners. I could go on and on about what is going to be missing.

We haven’t had it be just the two of us for over 20 years. It is going to take some adjusting and some negotiating.

I will have to learn how to cook for just two people. I love to cook for lots of people. More difficult to cook for just the two of us. The good thing here is that I don’t have to make allowances for those in the family that don’t like certain foods.

It will balance out. We will learn to enjoy the quiet and make some fun on our own. We will enjoy our favourite foods. We will take time to heal.

Mostly though, we will rejoice that we have raised together three wonderful young adults who care about the people and the world around them. That is enough to make my heart sing everyday!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Just the Two of Us

  1. Dan Jorgensen on said:

    Just wait until the grand babies start arriving ‘;0)

  2. Funny thing about cooking for two is that after eight years of being empty nesters we don’t really do that except when it comes to meat portions for the barbeque. We just have lots more freezer meals ready to go or extra rice or potatoes that can go in the fridge for another meal.

    Enjoy the pas de deux.

Leave a Reply

