Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Hanging on by my fingernails – A Lament

I feel like I am hanging on by my fingernails.

I am hanging on to hope just barely.

I am clinging on to my faith just barely.

I am feeling abandoned and lost in so many ways.

I don’t know what the future is going to bring.

I feel like I am hanging on by my fingernails.

I wonder how to keep despair from taking me over.

I don’t how to pray at the moment.

I go between rage and tears at our situation.

I don’t know where God is in the midst of all of this.

I feel like I am hanging on by my fingernails.

I am distracted and can’t concentrate on the tasks in front of me.

I am sorry about the worry that this is causing our children.

I try and try to see a way forward and can’t find it.

I wonder how many more personal defeats we can take.

I feel like I am hanging on by my fingernails.

“My eyes will flow unceasingly,
without relief,
 until the Lord looks down
from heaven and sees.
 What I see brings grief to my soul”

Lamentations 3: 49-51a

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Hanging on by my fingernails – A Lament

  1. prayers and raging are not so different , so rage, my dear, and we, your friends, will pray…
    Leslie

  2. Valerie Canfield on said:

    allow me to hold you for awhile and give your fingernails a rest ….
    ((((((love you lots)))))))

  3. I know too about those fingernail moments. I wish I could say everything will be just fine but the reality is, yes it will be “fine”, maybe even “great” but in the meantime you need to find the strength to keep going and like it or not my friend you are the mainstay of your little family and the rock they cling to. But I know your fingernails are leaving groves in that rock and I pray that soon your burdens will lessen and the load lifted a bit. Try and cling to your faith Fiona as hard as that might be and take comfort in the true and certain knowledge that you are not alone. Hugs my dear

  4. Thanks for a heartfelt reflection; Add it to your “list” of beloved Psalms! Poems and prayers bless those who write, and those who listen. Yes, you are a blessing!!!

  5. Fiona
    This is beautifully written and very expressive.
    I don’t know you very well, but I can feel your anxiety and stress in the words.
    They are meaningful to me.
    Thank you for sharing such intimate words.
    I will pray for you to have strength to see the One who journey’s with us — even when life is a pile of puss.
    Peace
    Kevin

  6. Pingback: Reflections « Faith from the Edges

Leave a Reply

