Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Words and their power

At the beginning of this year a friend sent me a link to a blog site that deals with creativity and in particular in choosing words to help guide your year. This thought intrigued me and I begin to ponder what words I might choose for the year.

I love words. I love how they sound in our mouths. I am aware of  the power they have to both hurt and to heal. I love putting ideas into words and sharing those with others. It has been words, writing and speaking them, that have gotten me through much of the last three years. Words are how I express my feelings and concerns.

Those of you who are friends with me on Facebook will know that I usually comment a lot on others statuses and that it is a rare day that goes by that I don’t write one of my own. It is my way of saying I am here, I matter and what others are saying about me, about the dear one, about our family just don’t matter. I use words to strengthen the positive in my life when I am surrounded by so much that is negative.

I think this is one of the reasons why I am an Anglican. We like words those of us Christians that are Anglicans. We have prayer books that are full of words. Common words that we share when we pray and sing. Words that connect us, words that challenge us, words that strengthen us. I don’t know an active Anglican who when they hear the words The Lord be with you  doesn’t answer with And also with you. Words that gather us, forgive us, feed us and then send us on our way.

So now back to my words for this year. They are courage, joy, and voice. Those words have been a big part of why I started this blog.

Courage to share my story. Courage to name the grief that I have been living with. Courage to reach out to my friends and family for support.

I am looking for joy. Not big joy. Little joy. The joy of a warm spring day. The joy of a good sleep. The joy of sharing a moment of laughter with a friend.

I have needed to remember my voice. That I can speak, write and share my voice with others. That my voice matters. That I have ideas to share with others. I am taking back my voice.

Words are amazing. They help us to communicate. They give me courage and joy and voice as I live out my life of faith at the edges.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Words and their power

  1. courage, joy and voice – words nicely chosen!

  2. Pingback: Words for 2013 « Faith from the Edges

Leave a Reply

