Faith from the Edges

Faith and life from the perspective of me.

Travelling & Renovating

I have been travelling for work the last week. Stayed with friends over the weekend and then my folks for the rest of the week. It struck me today that travelling is a metaphor for what I have been going through lately. I am living out of suitcase. I am not at home. In much the same way when I am at home I feel adrift and without a church home. On the positive side travelling takes me places and lets me experience new things – like riding the train between Ottawa and Toronto.

We have also been doing work on our home over the last year. It has been a way for the dear one to keep focused and have a sense of purpose during this time away from parish life. This has meant that various rooms have been packed up, cleared out, painted and in some cases floors redone! So we have been living as nomads within our own home. This past couple of weeks the dining room has been undergoing its freshening up – which meant that the table was moved into the living room and other furniture was moved around. This too has been a metaphor of my life. Unsettled and chaotic at times but then moving into fresher, cleaner, updated spaces.

I am beginning to see a bit of a pattern here. Feeling like I don’t have a home but the promise of something new to come. Chaos and being unsettled are where I need to live for the moment. That eventually there will be something fresher, cleaner and updated for me.

Travelling through this desert time with some shimmers of hope on the horizon.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Travelling & Renovating

  1. Dear Fiona,
    This is not a response to eh above; it was, however, the only one to which I could post.

    Today from my personal devotion came this quote from Isaiah.
    Isaiah 44:3 (NRSV)

    3 For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour my spirit upon your descendants, and my blessing on your offspring

    Although it speaks of descendents and offspring, I think that if God is willing to water the thirsty ground and our offspring, surely, God in not going to skip us but give us refreshment, blessing and a measure of God’s spirit.

    And these from my Lenten reflections from Lutherans Connect. This is the first time in years I have stuck to a daily reflection during Lent. I find the images powerful and the writing meaningful. I come away from it calm and refreshed. http://lcseekingsacredspace.blogspot.com/

    Give ear to my words, O Lord;
    give heed to my sighing.
    (Psalm 5:1)

    For the mountains may depart
    and the hills be removed,
    but my steadfast love shall not depart from you,
    and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,
    says the Lord, who has compassion on you.
    (Isaiah 54:10)

    For God alone my soul waits in silence;
    from him comes my salvation.
    (Psalm 62:1)

    When I am feeling lost and abandoned words like these are what I cling to in order to hang on to the most gossamer thread of the Holy.

    Marion

Leave a Reply

